h1

248 Very very sick

June 13, 2009

This hasn’t been a very easy week. Our three-year-old is sick… and not only a little sick… I have honestly never seen any of my kids this sick ever! She has fever, a very bad throat pain, didn’t eat almost at all since Monday, doesn’t drink much.. keeps vomiting now and then. Yesterday she didn’t even have the strength to stand up. She hardly walked from her bed to the couch. And hey.. she is three!!

The night between Thursday and Friday we stayed up all night to give her water every five minutes because she was dehydrated. We didn’t sleep at all. Yesterday hubby took her to the doctor..  and she started a treatment with antibiotics – which I think is wrong because I’m quite sure she doesn’t have strep. This is something else! The antibiotics doesn’t seem to help either.

 We think she might have Infectious mononucleosis. The symtoms seem to match. But we aren’t sure yet… If she’s not getting any better until then I’ll take her to the doctor for further checkups on Monday. Until she’s feeling better we’ll need to keep also her brother home from kindergarten because she is too sick even to go with us in the stroller twice a day when leaving and picking him up at kindergarten.

Just pray she’ll feel better soon. It hurts to see her like this.

2 comments

  1. Your poor baby! I’ll be praying for her and your family. I hope she gets better soon. Take care of yourself too.


  2. Oh, if it turns out she has mono, there’s no real cure. I had it in college. Now that I think about it, you might be right. But the doctor gave me an over the counter antihistamine because mono attacks histamines. In his informal research of dealing with college students with mono this helped the best, getting the students over it sooner and without a repeat of the illness. But I don’t know if they have any over the counter ones for kids.



Leave a comment