h1

195 Swedish Cinnamon Rolls – Kanelbullar

January 20, 2009

006
These are cinnamon rolls that I baked last Friday. Looks yummy huh?
I tried to translate the recipe of  Kanelbullar into English – but that wasn’t easy. You guys have such a complicated measuring system!! Is there anybody out there who knows both systems that can verify my conversion? Now that I worked so hard with the translation – you’d better try the recipe!!

150 grams butter (1,3 sticks)
5dl milk (2 cups)
1 cube fresh yeast, 50 grams (I have no idea how you measure yeast so this one you’ll have to find out)
1dl sugar (almost ½ cup)
1tsp salt
1,4 L wheat flour (4-4,5 cups)
2 tsp grounded cardamom (optional. I don’t use it because I don’t like it)

Filling
150 grams butter (1,3 sticks) room temperature
½ cup sugar
cinnamon

1 egg
Pearl sugar

Break the yeast in a bowl. Melt the butter and add milk. Warm it up until it’s warmish.(37°C  / 98°F)  Now pour the mixture over the yeast. Finally add the other ingredients and work the dough. Let the dough rise under a kitchen towel for about 30 min or until it has doubled the size.

Prepare the filling by mixing the butter (room temperature) with the sugar.

After the dough has rested, divide it into four pieces. Roll the first piece out so that it is about 1/3 inch thick. Butter it  with the butter/sugar mixture and sprinkle it with cinnamon. Now you roll it up. Take a sharp knife and slice it into ten pieces. Put the pieces on a baking tray with baking paper or in paper liners. Do this with the other three pieces of dough too. Now the rolls have to rest another 40 minutes, under a kitchentowel. Use the last 20 minutes to preheat the oven to 225°C /482°F

Beat up an egg and brush egg on the rolls and sprinkle pearl sugar on them.
Put them in the oven for 5-8 min.

Did you know that the Swedish Cinnamon Roll has its own day? Every year at October 4th is “Kanelbullens dag” – The cinnamon roll’s day.

10 comments

  1. Yum! I think the one in the upper right corner is the one I’m eating right now.


  2. Har du hittat pärlsocker i Israel? Eller har du från Sverige (vi fick alltid importera). Vet inte om det finns någon annanstans än i Sverige.


  3. Vi har importerat från Sverige.. har inte hittat här. Bitsocker finns men inte pärlsocker.


  4. Those look yummy. I’ll have to try them. Yes, we Americans have a crazy way of measuring. It really makes no sense. And I haven’t seen cubed yeast in stores in years. I’ll let you know when I make them 🙂


  5. They don’t even have it in the stores? wow. Here in Israel instant is the most popular but they still have the cubes. Good for me because I don’t even know how to use the instant 🙂


  6. Yummy. It’s funny what different regions have in the stores. It’s not even from country to country. All over the US, we eat differently.


  7. Yeah, I’m pretty horrible with instant too; that’s why I have to use a bread maker or my bread doesn’t rise. Joy’s right. One store I go to has very little baking supplies; while one done the street has tons. Just different dynamics, I guess.


  8. I have something for you on my blog!


  9. I tried your recipe yesterday and it was 5 stars !!!!
    Wow! Thank you ^^


  10. I have linked the translation of the recipe on my blog. The rolls are really yummy! I had not known about the Kanebullens Dag before. Många hälsningar från Tyskland.



Leave a Reply

