h1

¤ 50 Secret Languages and Private Talk

August 21, 2008

How can one live without having a secret language? I’m feeling so exposed if I have to talk private stuff in a language that people around me understand. Even if it’s not that private, just regular talk – I’m uncomfortable with it. Or maybe I’m just spoiled. Maybe other people don’t talk about stuff when people are around? Or maybe they don’t care?

I speak Swedish with my family – quite safe here in Israel, even though it happened a few times that I met people who understand Swedish.. and it went all weird and embarrassing and you start thinking What the heck did I talk about the last few minutes. I hope I didn’t say anything bad.

When we don’t want the kids to hear what we say.. when we want to plan things without their opinion – or just be able to talk without their comments about this and that – we speak English. Works fine! -this far. Though Efraim is curious and started asking a lot and is slowly slowly starting to learn a bit. He knows a lot more English than I did when I was ten and started studying English in school. That’s one of the reasons we now started studying Spanish.. so we can switch to Spanish when the kids reach the level in English where they will actually understand what we’re saying.

When we go to Sweden (which happened only once this far) we speak Hhebrew.. quite safe too. There are only a few situations where we really don’t have any language that works.. and that’s when the whole family is around.. with brothers and parents who understand both Hebrew and Swedish. And that’s why we’ve got to add some more languages to our list!!

5 comments

  1. Ah.. as a parent you will learn “silent communication”. No words needed at all because kids are that kind of smart that they too will understand the roots of any conversation and will be able to pick it up if exposed. Kids learn languages faster than adults. Be warned.


  2. And you don’t think they’ll learn to understand the silent communication??

    I know that kids learn languages faster than adults.. thats nothing but at good reason to introduce them to as many languages as possibble from an early age. 🙂


  3. I have to say I’m pretty impressed you speak so many languages. Jealous actually. That green eyed monster strikes again!!

    What a beautiful family you have. I do have to agree with Amber on the post. Kids will usually figure out what your talking about. They just seem to know things and they do pick things up very quickly even if you think they aren’t. It’s also so good for them to learn languages at a young age. Wow, did I say I’m impressed???


  4. Welcome to my blog! =)


  5. lol

    great idea and god learning power



Leave a Reply

